The “Poor” Amongst Us – cont’d

“I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters,you were doing it to me!… [but] when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.” Matthew 25:40, 45

Part 1 of this message ended with a call-to-action… for us to allow our eyes to be opened to the needs of the hurting amongst us.

Just has the Scripture tells us that “the harvest is great” [Mat 9:37], so too are the needs of many. As we said, those needs span physical and material needs, to mental, social, emotional and spiritual needs. There are many out there who are without hope.

I was doing some research recently on why the Islamic militant organisation Boko Haram has been so successful in recruiting ordinary citizens in Nigeria. I came across the story of Nigeria’s first suicide bomber. My heart wept.

Martin Ewi, a researcher with South Africa’s Institute for Security Studies (ISS), told the BBC News Service that Boko Haram paid Nigeria’s first suicide bomber – who attacked the police headquarters in the capital Abuja in 2011 – four million naira ($US 24,870, £14,750), to carry out the operation.

“He was a poor man. He did it for his four children so that they have a better life,” Mr. Ewi had said.

That man was fighting for no religious ideology. He was not trying to prove a point to the West. He did it because he saw no other hope for his family but to die tragically and take others with him.

And it would appear that vulturine Boko Haram swooped down to feed on his despair, in much the same way the devil seeks out the weak to devour [1 Pet 5:8]

With already confirmed reports of men from Trinidad & Tobago, who joined the Islamic State (ISIS) and were last known to be fighting in Syria, we are forced to grapple with as a region, that the reach of terror is right in our backyard.

As I consider all of this, I ask God, “how can I reach out, how can I help to stop the weak from being preyed upon?” and I hear clearly, “Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations”. [Mat 28:19]

Prayer: Lord, you have given me “riches” to take to “Poor” of this world. It is the Gospel… the power of God at work to save. [Rom 1:16]

Leave a Reply

