My Service is Always in Demand

There will always be some in the land who are poor. That is why I am commanding you to share freely with the poor and with other Israelites in need. Deuteronomy 15:11

Rather than draw from “the poor will always be with us” perpetual human suffering, some persons use it to paint poverty as a large and distant problem, well without their reach to fix.

“The poor will always be there, I can’t save everyone”,  have you heard them say? “No need to cry my heart, long after I am gone, the poor will still be around” they mutter as they flick through channels to avoid seeing another charity appeal. “There were poor people in Jesus’ time and even He could not help them all!” they say, dismissing the issue for something more “topical”.

The day God shined his light on these words for me, I realised that the poor always being present meant that there was no end to the needs that I could meet. My service on this earth will be required until God is ready to bring me into his heavenly Kingdom.

What good news is this far all of us who may feel that we are too young, too old, too far away, too limited in resources or too insignificant to serve others. We watch others who give thousands, hundreds and tens. They seem to be accomplishing so much with their money. We feel ashamed of our single dollars. Our drop in the bucket seems so useless, we wrongfully tell ourselves.

We see the little old lady who used to sing hymns with an unsteady voice but with a conviction of holiness and an assurance of eternal salvation so seldom preached about today, now sidelined.

Those who opened their homes to others to share a humble meal together, now feel embarrassed because preachers are preaching that the only way to give is in dollars, cents and checks.

It is said, “One man can’t save the world, but he can make the world of difference in one person”.

What is that tool in your hand which God has given you? See it not as a mere instrument to grant self-sufficiency, but also as an implement to administer grace to someone else.

Dear Lord, whatever my lot in life, I have something at my disposal that can add value to someone’s life. Show me what that is and help to give it freely.

Leave a Reply

